The Health Promotion and Wellness team at Granville Vance Public Health works with community stakeholders to create and manage sustainable programs geared towards improving health outcomes for individuals across Granville and Vance counties.  Our work is based on community identified needs, outlined in the Community Health Assessment and reported on annually in the State of the County Health reports.  Current community health priorities include:

  • Mental health and substance use
  • Youth well-being
  • Access to health care
  • Poverty
  • Health equity

The Health Promotion and Wellness team pursues grants and partnerships to address identified and emerging community health issues, through the implementation of evidence-based interventions, as well as policy, system and environmental changes.

For more information about services and resources available through the Health Education & Health Promotion team, please contact:

Kelsey Dickman, MPH
Public Health Education Specialist
919-693-2141 x236
kdickman@gvdhd.org

Shaq Davis, BSPH
Public Health Educator
252-492-7915 x297
sdavis@gvdhd.org

 

 

The Team

Shaq Davis, BSPH
Public Health Educator
WOW Community Faciliator

Kelsey Dickman, MPH
Public Health Education Specialist

Ashton Johnson, MPH
Minority Diabetes Prevention Coordinator
ajohnson@gvdhd.org

Nakia Martin-Wright, BSPH, CHES
Teen PEP Coordinator
nmartinwright@gvdhd.org

La’Shanda Person, BSW, MS
Innovative Approaches Coordinator
Teen PEP Supervisor
lperson@gvdhd.org

Shanté Speed, BSPH
Innovative Approaches Parent Advisory Facilitator
Teen PEP Co-Facilitator
sspeed@gvdhd.org

Sarah Sloderbeck, MPH, MSW
Public Health Educator
WOW Coordinator
ssloderbeck@gvdhd.org

Meredith Wester, BSW, MSW
Social Worker
Stepping Up Initiative
mwester@gvdhd.org

 

Programs

  • Innovative Approaches
  • Minority Diabetes Prevention Program
  • Opioid Overdose Prevention (Project VIBRANT)
  • Stepping Up
  • Teen PEP – Prevention Education Program
  • Triple P- Positive Parenting Program
  • Working on Wellness (WOW!) Coalition

Last updated